Following are all the posts made to the WinHlp-L list during the typosquatting incident. Interestingly enough, this listing was apparently compiled and posted by the individual using the "Jackson Dean" pseudonym.
|
-----Original Message----- |
| Oh, that is RICH, Matthew! You mean, if someone accidentally spelled forehelp or doc-to-help or intrahelp, but REALLY wanted more information about robohelp??? HO HO HO!!! Good one. By the way, thanks for clarifying what you meant by "traffic". I never heard that term before. You may have noticed, I've had to change my email address. SOMEONE trashed my other hotmail account. Also gobbled up the jacksondean@yahoo.com address I was planning to use. (Sometimes, I'd swear Richard Nixon was running the show at Blue Sky headquarters.) So, instead, I appear before you as the NEW, IMPROVED, FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY, Jackson Dean 2000!! Blue Sky is registering domains that come close to trademark infringement of its competitors, as well as partners like Micro$oft. More to come... >I am sure it's purely for strategic reasons. The assumption is that if they >mistype in a URL, it will point them to Blue Sky's web site. I believe this >will increase the number of hits, or "traffic" on the site each day. > >Sincerely, > >Matthew Brown >Blue Sky Software Technical Support > > >> -----Original Message----- >> From: Cline, Dana [mailto:dcline@BIGHORN.DR.LUCENT.COM] >> Sent: Monday, September 20, 1999 2:35 PM >> To: WINHLP-L@ADMIN.HUMBERC.ON.CA >> Subject: Re: New Site >> >> >> Sherri, >> >> >>On Behalf of the Blue Sky Web Team >> >> Would you be interested in telling us why, on behalf of your >> web team, that >> Blue-Sky registered all those dozens of domains, including >> those containing >> names of your compeditors? Just so we all understand where >> Blue Sky is coming >> from? Of course, if management never told you why... >> >> Dana [still miffed about that] Cline >> > |